We’re Invited! – Mary Kay

Mary Kay

Who doesn’t love a girl’s night out?  What better girl’s night out than a night of makeup testing with a makeup artist?  Yeah, we thought so too.  :)

This last week, one of the gals at our church invited all the girls to a Mary Kay makeup party.  Naturally, we were thrilled with the idea, but I saw my sisters eyes flick towards me hopefully the instant “makeup” was mentioned.  As soon as we were alone, they asked the question that their faces had been asking the entire time.  “Is Mary Kay gluten free?”

The Mary Kay website does not have any ingredient information at all, that I could find.  So I contacted the company and received a prompt and thorough reply.

Dear Customer,

We sincerely appreciate your comments and taking the time to write to us.

The information you requested is included as an attachment. If additional information is required, please feel free to contact us at 1-800-MARYKAY (1-800-627-9529) Monday through Friday, 8:30am – 5:00pm Central Standard Time and request to speak directly to Consultant and Medical Relations.

Warmest regards,

Mary Kay Customer Operations
800-MARYKAY (627-9529) Monday – Friday 8:30 AM – 5:00 PM CST
The Company is dedicated to Mary Kay’s mission to enrich women’s lives!

Here is the attachment



I am totally bummed.  Guess we’ll have to hang out with the gals at a different time. But I GREATLY appreciate Mary Kay’s forthrightness in dealing with the issue of gluten.  Although I’m disappointed to not be able to use their products, I am very grateful to be freely given the information I need to keep myself healthy.  Thank you Mary Kay for your honesty!!  :D


There are some questions brought up in the PDF about whether or not we Celiacs really need to use gluten free makeup.  I don’t have time to address that tonight, but stay tuned for an article in the next few days.  ;)

Placed into drawers: Gluten Info

  • jenn

    thank you! I’m a Cdn Consultant & get asked that constantly–I knew of a few of the “revitalizer” products are gluten UNfriendly–however appreciate that attachement you’ve added!

  • jenn

    thank you! I’m a Cdn Consultant & get asked that constantly–I knew of a few of the “revitalizer” products are gluten UNfriendly–however appreciate that attachement you’ve added!

  • Linda F.

    Hi Gluten Free Gal…as a woman with wheat allergies and most likely celiac disease its very important to me to know what is in my make up or anything I use on my skin. Think trans dermal patches..if they can be used to have things absorbed into your skin, why not gluten? With that said, I sell Mary Kay and they DO have a list of all products used…if you like I can email them to you. There are only two products that contain gluten that I know of.

    • http://www.glutenfreemakeupgal.com/ The Gluten Free Makeup Gal

      Hey Linda,

      I appreciate the offer! Now I’m curious- have things changed since Mary Kay said they cannot guarantee any of their products are gluten free? Even if a product doesn’t directly contain gluten, cross-contamination can be a very real issue. If just a few products contain direct gluten, it can affect the entire line if precautions are not taken to ensure the purity of the other products.

      But this is a pretty old article, so I’d be happy to hear if Mary Kay has made some changes. :)

    • Mandolin

      Is there a way to publicly post that list? I am beginning my gluten free journey and having difficulty identifying the culprits…

      • http://www.glutenfreemakeupgal.com/ The Gluten Free Makeup Gal

        Hey Mandolin,

        Publicly publishing the list might not be a good idea simply because of the likelihood of the list going out of date, then someone trying to use it and getting sick because the formulas have changed.

        However, unless Mary Kay has new procedures in place that ensures the lack of cross contamination between “gluten free” and not gluten free products, then even the “gluten free” ones likely contain gluten. The last time I spoke to Mary Kay they would not claim any of their products were free of cross contamination, though they did have a list of products that did not directly contain gluten.